Le Petit Tour de France: Cote d’Azur (Antibes)

My second day-trip during my stay on the Riviera was to Antibes, about 15 miles to the southwest of Nice. It was cloudy, but luckily not raining, so I spent the day walking around the Vieille Ville (“Old City”), and the beautiful ‘promenade’ along the coast. I also visited a wonderful open-air produce market and the Picasso Museum – not a bad way to spend a day!

 

PHOTO

 

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

There are some pretty great door stylings in la Vieille Ville…

PHOTO

PHOTO

The Antibes Picasso Museum… Unfortunately, photography was prohibited inside, so I only have shots of the exterior of the building (which is admittedly impressive in and of itself – a remodeled Roman fort).  Many of the works in the museum where made by Picasso when he had a studio in this building for a month in 1946 – 23 paintings and 44 drawings!  All in one month!  If only we could all be so productive…

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

The open-air market with its delicous food and gorgeous displays…

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

The South of France is where I learned to truly love olives…

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

The Vieux Port (“Old Port”)…

PHOTO

PHOTO

Old ramparts by the port are now a pedestrian walkway where I found this interesting sculpture by Jaume Plensa, entitled “Nomade”…

PHOTO

PHOTO

The view from the ramparts…

PHOTO

La Plage de la Gravette, where I had a picnic lunch with food from the market…

PHOTO

Kid sand-art… it’s the best!

PHOTO

Something I’d never seen before: Shower faucets for rinsing off in the surf… huh?

PHOTO

La Promenade Amiral de Grasse and its scenic views…

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

PHOTO

Along the promenade the sea is on one side and houses are on the other – how wonderful would it be to live there?!

PHOTO

PHOTO

Walking on the promenade away from la Vieille Ville, you pass the gendarmerie and enter a park, “Square Albert the 1st,” in a more modern section of town…

PHOTO

PHOTO

Does this street art make anyone else think of Elton John in the opening scenes of his video for “I’m Still Standing?” or is it just me? (I know, I know – I date myself).  The video was filmed in Cannes and Nice – hmmmm…

PHOTO

PHOTO

Views from the park – la Vieille Ville sits atop the hill in the distance…

PHOTO

PHOTO

And one last random note:  I always laugh here in the States when I see businesses using French language in their names because they think it adds prestige to their image – like it somehow makes them ‘fancy.’  You know, business that call themselves things like “Le Nails,” etc. … I was delighted to see that this happens in France with English as well… at least, it does here at this store in Antibes…. Ha! Ha!

PHOTO

And that wraps up my time in Antibes!  Next and final stop on the Côte d’Azur: Walking from Cap d’Ail to Monaco and the border town of Menton… À bientôt!

 

Leave a Reply

