Walls, Windows, Doors & Gates – OH MY!

It’s time I share my obsession with you. At least, the obsession I had while in Nepal… Walls, windows, doors, and gates – OH MY! It may seem strange to some of you (perhaps the artists reading can relate), but I was simply fascinated by these textured, layered, patterned, marked, and weathered surfaces. I couldn’t stop photographing them. In Kathmandu, many houses are enclosed by walls and gates, so the possibilities were virtually endless.  Every single day I noticed new surfaces that I hadn’t seen the day before, particularly on my route to and from the studio – a door with the paint chipping just so, a new piece of graffiti art, a curtain hanging in a window with an interesting pattern.  They were all there, just beckoning me… awakening the Photographer (with a capital ‘P’) that I once was.

So here are some of my favorite shots of the many (many, many) I took over my two months in Nepal. Enjoy! (Or if you think this is weird and you’re totally bored, don’t worry – more blog posts are coming soon!)

 

I’ll start with pictures from my neighborhood and the surrounding area…

wall 1

 

wall with laundry

door 1

wall 3

wall 4

“That is haircut” – YES!

wall 5

I absolutely love this letter to the wall…

wall 6

door 2

door 3

wall 7

wall 8

gate 1

wall 9

wall 10

wall 11

wall 12

wall 13

wall 13

wall 14

gate 2

door 4

gate 3

gate 4

wall and window

wall 115

wall 16

wall 17

wall 17

gate 5

wall 18

wall 19

wall 20

gate 6

door 5

wall 21

gates 7

gate 8

gate detail

wall 22

wall 23

wall 23

door 6

door 7

wall 24

gate 7

wALL 25

This guy is all over the walls in Kathmandu…

wall 26

wall 27

gate 8

wall 28

wall 29

wall 29

wall 30

wall 31

door 7

window

I saw this rooster on my way to the studio every day…

rooster window

door 8

Under construction…

wall 32

wall 33

wall 34

gate 9

wall 34

Winner of the world’s “Most Adorable Graffiti Art” Award…

wall 35

wall 36

wall 37

wall 38

There is moss growing EVERYWHERE…

wall 36

Ooohhh, rust – I love your color…

gate 10

gate detail

Look closely, you’ll see an elephant…

wall 37

wall 39

windo

The wall at Kasthamandap Art Studio’s school…

wall 40

In Binod’s studio…

window

In my studio…

window

window

Pigeon lovers through the window…

pigeon window

Walls, windows, doors in Patan’s ‘old city’…

wall

door

wall

doors

“Let’s have fun with ice cream!”  – That’s what I always say!

doors and wall

A door no more…

door

door

wall

wall

wall

wall

wall

wall

door

Vote for Tree!

door

And now some pictures from everywhere else…

In the bathroom of a bar in the tourist district…

window

At Pashupatinath…

wall

At Bouhda…

wall

wall

…and near Bouhda…

wall with bike

Near LASANAA in the neighborhood of Thapathali…

gate

Monostary walls at Swayambhunath (the “Monkey Temple”)…

wall

wall

At the International Playgroup and Preschool…

wall

At the Nepal Association for Fine Art…

wall

window

The kitchen wall at our friend Sunil’s house… lots of delicious food made there (trust me, I’ve tried it)…

wall

More from his house and neighborhood…

wall

wall

wall

In Bhaktipur…

wall

wall

window

door

wall

In Nagarkot (more on that to come!)…

wall

window

Yes, that is a wall made of beer bottles…

wall

The gate for some sort of army training camp…

gate

In a small village hiking out of Nagarkot…

doors

In another village further down the road from Nagarkot…

door

wall

In Budhanilkantha, Drew’s research site…

wall

gate

Of course!  School children, a Hindu god, and imitation Mickey Mouse… naturally.

gate

On our 4 day trek in the Annapurna range (yes, yes.. more to come on that as well!)…

wall and roof

door

wall

wall

windows

windows

door

window

window

window

The gate to Poon Hill…

gate

Bathrooms for diplomatic attaches only… sorry.

wall

Mountain gate…

gate

window

window

window

door

window

And in Pokhara…

window

window

wall

door

window

And en route to Pokhara…

walls

Congratulations on making it to the end of this VERY LONG post!  Believe it or not, this is not every single picture I took of walls, windows, doors and gates while in Nepal.  Clearly I am a terrible editor, but I promise I didn’t actually post them ALL!

More posts to come soon – the Krishna festival, a weekend trip to Nagarkot, our four-day trekking adventures, and much more!  Of course, I am now at my residency in Marnay-sur-Seine, France and that is keeping me very busy (and it is AMAZING here, by the way!)… But I’m committed to this blog and will get it all up eventually!  Until next time… Namaste et Au Revoir!

One thought on “Walls, Windows, Doors & Gates – OH MY!

Leave a Reply

